Champs Eights Head

Congratulations to all category winners for the Champs Eights Head 2021!

Finalised results can now be found on RowClock.

Trophies have been awarded to the fastest crews on the day:

  • John Stewart Trophy: Magdalene M1 (04:28.1)
  • Helen Patterson Trophy: Cantabrigian Senior Women (05:10.9)

Champion Cox awards have been given to the coxes of:

  • City of Cambridge Senior Women
  • Downing W1
  • Clare W1

Highly commended coxes are also noted for posterity:

  • LMBC W2
  • Queens’ NM1
  • Sidney W2

Photographs were taken by Gary Yalloway on the long reach which he has kindly made available here:

Pots have been awarded to all crews winning their category where more than 2 entries were received (event secretary feeling generous!). All pots will be delivered over the coming days to nominated locations from entry forms.

Next Race: Sunday 15th May 2022

John Stewart & Helen Patterson Trophies

Champion of the Thames RC will be running Champs Eights Head on Sunday 15th May 2022 with racing on a 1450m course upstream from the Plough to the site of the former Penny Ferry pub.

Queries and questions can be sent to our Events Secretary via this webform


Divisions will be run with a maximum entry of 40 crews per division. Your chosen division will be secured once payment has been received for your entry. Should the event be over-subscribed, we will consider adding an additional division rather than expanding planned divisions.

Division 1: 12:00 | Division 2: 13:30 | Division 3: 15:00


Entries are open and will close at 6pm on Wednesday 11th May 2022 or when the divisions are full – whichever is sooner. Late entries will be considered until Saturday 14th May at 10am if space is available to accommodate your crew – please contact the Events Secretary via this webform.

Full details for payment is given on completion of your entry via the form linked above. Entries will be charged at £72/boat (£9/seat). Payment must be received before your race numbers are issued. No crews will be allowed to race without payment having been made.

Entries will be accepted in College Bumps and CRA categories as follows:

College Mens 8s:         Mays Divisions M1, 2, 3, 4, 5/6 + GoR

College Womens 8s:   Mays Divisions W1, 2, 3, 4/5 + GoR

CRA 8s:                         Championship, Club A, Club B, Novice, Masters, Junior

Should a category have 2 or fewer entries the organiser reserves the right to combine categories to create meaningful competition.

College crews, please note that your category is the division in which your boat would have started in this year’s May bumps, not your crew number (e.g. Selwyn M1 race in Mays M2). Any crews that will be entering the Getting-on Race are welcome to enter as M5/6 or W4/5.

CRA crews, please note that categories will be as defined per events offered by the CRA winter league:

  • Championship – highest category: aimed at crews who will be racing off-cam at National events this season. (See notes below)
  • Club A – average more than 2 BR or CRA event wins in last 24 months (head race or regatta) who are below Championship level.
  • Club B – average less than 2 BR or CRA event wins in last 24 months (head race or regatta) on or off cam
  • Novice – Maximum of 2 members of the crew have won a BR or CRA event (head race or regatta) before 1st January 2018.


  • A crew may always enter a higher category than that for which they are qualified
  • The status of a crew is as at close of entries (5PM ON WED 12 MAY 2021). If your category changes between making the entry and close of entries, please advise the entries secretary
  • No substitutions that will take the crew into a higher category are allowed without the crew changing status or racing Time OnlyShould any category have more than 8 entries the organiser reserves the right to expand the categories (e.g Club A, Club B, Club C or Novice and Beginner).


For 2022 we again have prizes and special awards to make it another challenging and entertaining event including:

  • Tankards for category winners
  • A Magnum of Champagne for breaking the current course records for Mens and Womens crews
  • Awards for fastest men’s and women’s 8s on the day – the John Stewart and the Helen Patterson trophies
  • Champion Cox awards for judged best line around Ditton Corner

We will also be taking race photographs on the day which will be available free of charge to all crews following the event.


Will be found at RowClock after each division is complete. Final results will be posted on this website in the days after the event.

Course Fastest Times

College Men       (2019 – M Course Record) – Caius M1 4:13.0

CRA Men (2019) – Cambridge 99 M2 4:44.2

College Women (2019 – W Course Record) – Newnham W1   4:54.6

CRA Women (2018) – Cantabrigian Senior Women 4:57.2

Past winners of the John Stewart and Helen Patterson trophies (for the fastest time each year) can be found here

Champion of the Thames RC would like to thank Milton Brewery for their past support of this event. Sadly we will be unable to provide a fill of your tankards this year but hopefully we will be able to in 2022!

MBC Logo

Future Dates

Each year we aim to run this event on the 3rd Sunday in May. Future dates are to be approved by Cambridgeshire Rowing Association & Cam Conservators.

2022 – 15th May (Provisional)

2023 – 21st May (Provisional)

Race Documents

Detailed information on the event and its management can be found in these documents. All participating crew members and their bank parties MUST read these prior to racing.

Results from previous races